So you want to be a writer, huh?

When I was younger, I remember I made a list of all the things I wanted to be. My criteria was not too stringent; the career had to have a name that was long enough to impress the adults the asked me what I saw myself doing as an adult, but it still had to be easily pronounceable. It had to be something that did not involve the ocean (I was deathly afraid of whales). I went through different phases, doing my best to find the coolest, and driest careers. But when I started high school I had to start thinking about how I was actually going to make a living. My career options became less adventurous and much more grounded (both literally and figuratively). An unfortunately reality; we need money.

If you plan on making a career of writing or wish to write while pursuing another passion, you can’t ignore the unfortunate truths of adult life. But just because we can’t all live romantic lives writing and reading all day in our beautiful studies with mahogany desks (goals) doesn’t mean we can’t be writers. In fact, most writers have other jobs, some careers even.For many of them, there day jobs and careers actually add depth to their writing and their experiences serve as inspiration. For example, John Green’s experiences working in a hospital inspired “The Fault in Our Stars”.  The links below will lead you to discussion about how to make sure adulthood doesn’t weaken your writing hand. For those of you who plan on becoming writers, there is no reason that you can’t. And for those of us who may not plan on making a career of my writing, that doesn’t mean we have to stop becoming better writers.

How To Become A Prolific Writer While Holding Down A Day Job – This posts provides inspiration for who you can not only continue writing while you work, but how you can pursue your dreams of becoming a writer. It also shares the experiences and stories of famous writers who wrote some of their bestselling novels while working a day job.

Writing With a Day Job– This discussion is for those who are interested in having a career outside of writing but still wish to keep writing. I have other passions, and the reality is those other passions are much more secure and stable. Bransford argues in his blog post that this security is what gives him the freedom to write.

How to Become a Writer as a Second Career– While my last post was reassurance for those who may want to continue writing but have other plans for the future, this post is for those who see writing as their future. The commitments of the real world may be a drag, but they shouldn’t keep you from writing.

Some Motivation– Lastly, a (kind of cliche) motivational video to keep the spirits up. I hope my last post isn’t a disheartening one. By bringing up the reality of what the real world holds for us after we graduate, I hope to help remind everyone to prepare, so that they can continue doing and pursuing what they are truly passionate about.

Leave a Reply

