Exercise in Creativity

Sometimes I think that we, as writers, get too bogged down with the thought of writing something that has a specific deadline. I know personally, it can be hard for me to get the best results out of my writing when I feel pressured to get words on a page before a certain date. I’ve found that the best way for me to cope with this pressure is to take a step back and do something fun that will get my creativity going again. This is a quick, fun exercise that can help you get out of your head and just have some fun while writing.

Take a magazine and skim through it. Along the way, cut out any interesting words or phrases you see. Then, take your collection of words and string them together any way you want so that they create a story. Rearrange them if you want and do it again. Or just try to make one really interesting sentence that inspires you to write more.

This is a really fun exercise and I think that it can help us to get our creative juices flowing when faced with a bad case of writer’s block. It is helpful sometimes to have the words in front of you. All you need to do is take them and shape them into a story. Who knows, maybe you will even create some really great writing that you want to incorporate into another piece!

One thought on “Exercise in Creativity

  1. This sounds like a really fun idea to try out. I used to write random stuff on little scraps of paper, shuffle them, and choose two at random, then write about it. But this seems like an even better idea. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

